Nude by Christmas

38 years old, 102kg. One of those numbers is about to change.

Eating

The diet is the hardest bit to change. Not just because you crave the yummy things, but because the rest of your family does too. When you’ve got three kids and a wife, it’s not all about you – that goes for everything, but certainly when it comes to cooking. Sure, it’s easy enough to say just make everyone change – but have you ever cooked for kids? They’re picky. I’m lucky, my kids are good-picky, but they’re picky nonetheless.

We don’t eat terribly, but we certainly don’t eat perfectly. We’d have fish once a week, chicken maybe twice, meat once or twice and the rest would be carbs (pasta) and veges. Almost all of our food is prepared at home, with only the occasional take-out meal. My biggest food issue would be portion control – I just love food, so making myself stop eating so much is priority number one.

My kids’ lunch-boxes would surely be lauded by nutritionists everywhere. They’re full of veges – tomatoes, cucumber, fennel, snow peas, capsicum, baby corn stalks – and a piece of fruit – one of bananas, strawberries, apples, pears… they love it all. They’ll take a sandwich, only every on wholemeal bread, which is usually either the great Aussie staple of Vegemite, or as a special treat, jam. My son won’t even have butter.

Hmmm. They eat better than I do. Funny how writing these things down makes you realise what’s really going on.

So far, I’ve cut out all butter (don’t miss it) and all milk (never really had it). I’m lowering my carb intake (it was way too high), but not elimating. I’m hoping to push towards fish three times a week, chicken a couple of times and another meat once or twice. To be honest, I don’t care much for meat, so it shouldn’t be a big deal.

But portion control… that’s the sticking point. That’s really just discipline, isn’t it?

If anyone has any great recipes, or any other thoughts on these, feel free to share.

I’m heading out for a walk.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

